Jamshedpur: Indian Institute of Metals (IIM) Jamshedpur Chapter organized “S. N. Sinha Memorial Materials and Metallurgy Event (SNSM3Q)” in memory of Prof. S. N. Sinha for the student of standard XI and XII for the students of Jharkhand State.

Prof. Sinha was an eminent educationist and past president of the IIM Jamshedpur Chapter. He has played a great role and contributed in building the students fraternity in Metallurgy as Head of Metallurgy Department of National Institute of Technology (NIT) Jamshedpur, as well as Director of National Institute of Foundry and Forge Technology (NIFFT), Ranchi. He has been a teacher of eminence and will always be remembered as an inspiration for student communities.

In the memory of Prof. Sinha, an elocution contest was organised on November 07, 2020 by IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter.

This year, due to the Covid-19 pandemic situation around the globe, IIM organised the 8th Prof. S. N. Sinha Memorial Materials & Metallurgy Event (SNSM3E-2020) on a virtual platform. Students from 10 schools participated in the contest and the event was attended by students, teachers and many dignitaries from Tata Steel Ltd. and CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory.

After the pre-elocution round in morning (9:00 AM) on November 07, 2020, 10 students out of 19 qualified for the final round of the contest which was held in the afternoon at 2.30 pm. The event formally began with the introduction of Prof. S. N. Sinha by Ms. Aarti Kumari (CSIR-NML). The welcome address was delivered by Dr. A. N. Bhagat, Vice Chairman, IIM Jamshedpur Chapter.
Mrs. Gayatri Sinha, wife of Prof. S. N. Sinha, was present in the event as the Guest of Honour. She delivered a motivational speech for the students and thanked the organizers for successfully conducting this programme for last 8 years.

ALSO READ:  CFE holds maiden e-Heritage Walk of Steel City

Prof. S. N. Sinha Memorial Lecture 2020 was delivered by the Chief Guest Dr. Soumitra Tarafder, Adviser Management & Chief Scientist, NML, Jamshedpur. In his inspirational speech, he talked about the scientific innovations and emphasised the importance of education to develop a creative and innovative mind in young generation.

The Elocution Contest was judged by Dr. M. Tarafder, Chairman, IIM Jamshedpur Chapter; Dr. S. Tarafder, Adviser Management & Chief Scientist, NML, Jamshedpur; Dr. Ashok Kumar, Head, Metallurgy and Material Science Department, NIT Jamshedpur and Dr. A. N. Bhagat, Vice Chairman, IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter.

Ms. Nishtha from Vidya Bharti Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Telco was announced as winner of the contest. Rishiraj Roychowdhury from Little Flower School got the 2nd position and Awantika Gautam from Kerala Public School, Kadma awarded by 3rd prize. These 3 winners will be nominated from IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter to participate in the Prof. Brahm Prakash Memorial Materials Event – 2020 to be held in webinar mode during 3rd or 4th week of November, 2020. At end, vote of thanks was delivered by Mr. Biraj Sahoo (CSIR-NML).


Start discussion. Express your views!